Manx Viking Wheelers CC

EST. 1932


IOM Calendar

TT Results

RR Results

Club Info

Start Sheets



TLI Entry Fees


How to enter a Manx race

IOM Youth Tour

Team Isle of Man

British Cycling

Cycling Weekly

Cycling News


IOM Weather

2015 Jersey Island Games Standards 



Cycling and the Isle of Man are two things which have gone hand in hand over the past few years, but the sport has been entwined in the history of the island over the past century.

The history of the Manx Viking Wheelers starts with local photographer Eddie Quayle who, in 1925, was appointed a representative of the Cycling Tourist Club. He was responsible with finding accommodation for the travelling cyclists of Britain. One tourist from Bolton Clarion Club became a regular and suggested Eddie should form a club on the Isle of Man.

Originally named the Viking Wheelers Touring and Social Cycling Club, it came to life in 1931 Mitre Hotel Kirk Michael. However the club’s official launch, with elected members, was the following year in April 1932 at the Bungalow.

There were seven original members; Charlie Coole, Hilda Craine, (Charlie and Hilda married soon after the founding) Tommy Hall, Bill Hudson, Ernie Crellin, Eddie and his brother Leo who designed the badge for the club. Just as club members do now the group would meet at the Quarterbridge before going out on rides.

The Wheelers were a big part in the creation of the first bicycle TT in 1936, which attracted 100 entrants, mostly from the UK. Founder Curwen Clague later spent four years in a prisoner of war camp, but his event was soon to become the world famous International Manx Cycling Week. The event would later draw in superstars such as Fausto Coppi, Eddy Merckx and Laurent Fignon.

In the 30s the Manx Viking Wheelers would do more than just ride their bikes; they would also organise social events and dances, with several of them performing in a band. There was also a prerequisite to the Royal London 360 league in 1948 when the juniors met up for the first time. The Wheelers have had some success in the UK when a Ms M Robinson won the British all rounder competition in a time of 23.193.
2010 News
  Time Trial Results
  Road Racing Results
2011 News
  Time Trial Results
  Road Racing Results



Affiliated to:

The Isle of Man Cycling Association

James Berry Fund
Calendar Quick Link
January February March April May June July August September October November December
Copyright © Colum 2010